Skip to content

Unsolicited WordPress propoganda

wordpress 4

Hi. My name is Glenn and I am a WordPress junkie.

It started about six years ago. A friend hooked me up and I’ve been using it ever since. So should you.

If you don’t already know, WordPress is a CMS or content management system. In normal people language? WordPress is a free tool that helps you create quick and easy web sites. And not just quick and easy. Quick and easy with some very cool features.

I use free WordPress software to create the site you’re reading now. I used WordPress to create the Podstock 2013 web site. I use WordPress to host our iPad conference web site. I use it to connect with family and to discuss books. My wife uses it for her classroom and to occasionally maintain a site for posting food and restaurant reviews.

Yeah. So what?

I believe that every teacher needs an online presence. A place to put stuff. To share stuff. To assign stuff. To communicate stuff. We’re 13 years into the 21st century. If you haven’t already, it’s okay to start sticking your toe into the new millennium.

And I know that might be scary. But your kids are in neck-deep and they need a lifeguard. WordPress can help.

They just came out with a new set of goodies just for educators called WordPress.com Classrooms. The cool thing about a WordPress web site is that you can start small and work your way into more complex things. Start by creating a page for each of your classes. Using the text editor (that looks very much like the word processor that you’re already using), post this week’s agenda and assignment due dates. Upload the rubric for the unit project so kids can always access it.

Share your site with parents and upload class documents, syllabus, and behavior expectations. Post parent-teacher conferences dates. Share photos and videos from class activities. Maybe even have students and parents act as guest writers.

Don’t be afraid to get wet. The water’s great.

wordpress 1

wordpress 2

wordpress 3

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I couldn’t agree more! I just started using WordPress and am obsessed!

    March 5, 2013
    • glennw #

      It gets addictive. Be careful!

      glennw

      March 5, 2013
  2. I have built dozens of websites using WordPress and I absolutely love it.

    July 4, 2013
    • glennw #

      Jim,

      I agree. Simple to use, easy to upgrade, and lots of options. Seems like more teachers would be using it.

      glennw

      July 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,828 other followers

