Skip to content

62 ways to use Google Forms

I feel bad. I ran across a very cool Google Doc and I can’t remember who told me about or how I found it. So . . . if it was you, thanks.

For the last couple of years, I’ve been pushing teachers to use Google Forms. Google Forms is a tool built into the free Google Docs app that allows you to create online surveys and assessments. People are using the tool in a wide variety of ways, from pre-tests to exit cards to collaborative time lines to lunch counts to graphic organizers to instant feedback to, well . . . you get the idea. Basically, you create a fill in the blank type form that automatically and instantly transfers the collected data in an easy to use spreadsheet.

If you don’t get the idea, here’s a Google Form that might help make things clearer. Head here, take the survey and get a sense of how powerful this free tool can be. Find the results of the survey here.

The cool Google Doc I found is titled 62 Interesting Ways to Use Google Forms.

My favorite? Number 56 – Classroom Compare and Contrast. What is the document missing? A reference to how Google Forms work great on mobile devices like smart phones, iPods and iPads.

If you don’t have a Google account, you really need one. Google Docs and Forms is just one of the reasons why.

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Do Google forms actually work well on mobile devices? I made a form and tested it on my wife’s iPhone, but I found that not all form items work well. I had no problem clicking on a text field to type in my own text, and the “choose from a list” items zoomed in automatically when I clicked on them, but the radio buttons associated with grid questions and standard multiple-choice questions required special zooming (especially for the grid). I found myself pressing radio buttons accidentally quite a bit. This prompted me to try switching all of my questions from standard multiple choice to “choose from a list,” but I was disappointed to realize that only standard multiple choice buttons come equipped with the option to go to a different page in the survey based on the response. I wasn’t able to do this with “choose from a list” questions. Have you found ways to work around any of these issues? If so, please let me know on Twitter: @MrFichter.

    February 11, 2012
  2. Adam #

    For mobile version of google forms pls check http://askmeqr.com – just paste a google form link to askmeqr and get mobile version of your form with QR code and short link.

    May 11, 2013
    • glennw #

      Adam,
      Cool beans! I like this. Thanks for sharing!

      glennw

      May 11, 2013
    • flora #

      That’s really helpful! Thank you!
      Flora

      May 22, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Google Forms Training | the technical details

Leave a Reply

