Skip to content

30 ways to use Twitter

I like this list. Some pretty simple, low prep ideas that you can use with your kids to improve learning.

But I’ve got a question.

Do kids even use Twitter?

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi Glenn,

    While these stats are a little dated (from May 2010), they say 14% of twitter users in the U.S. are between 3-17 years old.

    So I’d say, yes, a substantial number of kids do use Twitter. Although creating an account is of course much different from frequent usage.

    February 2, 2011
    • glennw #

      Thanks, Matt!

      It’s all in the usage. Another slightly dated Twitter usage chart at

      My point is that sometimes we as educators get very excited about certain types of tools that are new to us but that have no relevance to our kids. I still use email but my two kids don’t. I use Twitter but my kids don’t. This is not necessarily a full-on endorsement of StudyBlue but it is an attempt to meet kids where they’re at i.e. mobile devices, rather than us trying to force them into using what they see as outdated technology.


      February 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

