Skip to content
5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Glenn,

    I really think these are good points, but they put students from lower economic groups in a difficult spot. (I actually just wrote about how important paper is in this degree: for learning–slow reading and writing long hand– and for the economics of accessibility to technology.)

    One thing I would like to see is my students taking notes utilizing their texting literacy. Maybe I will require that in class next week, just to see if it makes a difference, but I would like to see them use their pencils, too.

    At community college most of my students had never heard of blogging before I introduced the concept to them. It is my humble and unscientific opinion that this is due to both lack of exposure and lack of access. (I nearly got in trouble with the dean because he didn’t understand what we were doing–I needed to explain it to him in terms of WebCT/Blackboard language … online continuing discussions from class material, etc.!!)

    I am not arguing with the overall premise–especially in light of what has happened internationally and the opportunities for networking professionally–but I may be arguing with the balance of tech versus paper.

    March 25, 2011
    • glennw #


      I agree on the Digital Divide stuff. That’s why I like the idea of using mobile devices and social networks like Edmodo that kids can access via cell phones. And I know that a divide still exists with cell phones / mobile devices but the divide seems smaller.

      And I’ve always believed in both/and – the idea that no one tool will solve all of our problems. I guess what I’m trying to say is that paper and tech together is better than one or the other.

      I should have been more clear on my purpose and audience – that we has teachers should not be avoiding social media because we believe that it does more harm then good.

      Thanks for the comment!


      March 25, 2011
  2. Well, then I think we are in agreement!

    March 25, 2011
  3. When it comes to a smarter filter in schools, you are right on. There is too much good stuff out there—balancing learning and safety is always key in developing engaged, and responsible, citizens.

    March 25, 2011
    • glennw #


      This is part of the reason I like Edmodo. Safe for schools. But you’re right, we need to do a better job of training our kids to be responsible – especially with mobile devices!


      March 25, 2011

Leave a Reply

