Skip to content

Nomination acceptance speeches wordlized

I’ve been knee deep in the Republican and Democratic national conventions over the last few weeks. And I love the speeches. But I’m also a very visual learner. So I love the speeches even more in Wordle format.

Wordle, the word cloud creator, is a great way to hook kids into conversations about the content and meaning of speeches and documents. In the case of the convention speeches, I would ask questions like:

How are the speeches different from each other in tone, content, and audience?

How are the speeches the same as each other in tone, content, and audience?

Is it possible to guess which political party made which speech based solely on the word cloud? How do you know?

Why do you think the speechwriters selected the language they used in the various speeches?

What words show up most often? Why?

Are there differences between presidential and vice-presidential speeches? Why?

Mitt Romney August 30th


Barack Obama September 6th


Paul Ryan August 29th


Joe Biden September 6th

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love this! Thank you so much for putting this together! My 11th graders will be seeing this soon.

    September 10, 2012
    • glennw #

      I’m glad you like it. Let us know how it works out with the 11th graders!


      September 10, 2012
  2. David Jones #

    thanks, shared this with ESL college students in Korea, had groups pull 3-5 words out of each wordle ‘word bank’ and had them create new sentences. students had fun comparing common words between the speeches and measured their frequency via size.

    September 11, 2012
    • glennw #

      Glad you found it useful!


      September 11, 2012
  3. Stacy Maxwell #

    I’m glad to see you using Wordle in this way. I have been toying with the idea of using Wordle in some way to create the ever-necessary and required “Word Wall” for my room. It’s quick, easy, and fun to look at. It would be fun to have students create their own Wordle’s as well, maybe as a test-review resource so they know what to study. I know I’m going back into your blog, but I have to for my class! I actually like a lot of your posts and can see myself using your blog as a resource in my future career!

    October 8, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. » Week 4: History Tech Lisa Holthaus
  2. Wordle – not just fun, but educational too! «
  3. Get Mathed » Week 4: History Tech
  4. Week 4: History Tech | Maria Ross -

Leave a Reply

