Skip to content

Hacking #iste2015: Just me and 18,000 of my closest friends


I’ve attended and presented at a lot of edtech conferences. Heck, ESSDACK hosts its very own edtech goodness called Podstock. But for a lot of reasons, I’ve never made it to ISTE. I get it. It’s big. Loud. Lots of sessions. Lots of receptions. Lots of giveaways. Lots of social media. It’s like the Super Bowl, World Series, and World Cup of edtech all rolled into one big event. Did I already say that it’s big?

And for someone who tends to the left of the introvert scale like me, there’s nothing like 18,000 other people all trying to get to the same place at the same time as I am to really get me jacked.

I kid cause I love.

I am seriously excited about what I’ll learn and who I’ll get to know. There are tremendous opportunities for learning new things and expanding my educational bubble. I’m headed to Philadelphia with several of my ESSDACK buddies: @kevinhoneycutt, @GingerLewman, Cody, Katie, Brenda, and Tim. (You can find us at Booth #1928 in the Expo Hall. If you’re in that area of the expo, be sure to stop by.)

It’s gonna be a good time . . . and will get even better if Tim and I can find some authentic Philly cheese steaks. Anyone have suggestions? Seriously. We’re not leaving town until that happens. And of course, I need to find time for sneaking over to the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall.

I’ll be doing a short little preso on Saturday morning to a few folks and then will be doing my best to keep up with all of my new friends. And as with any conference I attend, I plan on posting updates of stuff I see and hear. The focus will be on social studies related sessions and whatever gaming goodness I can track down. So be sure to check back often for the latest.

Stay tuned. It’s gonna be a great ride.

(I’m not kidding about the cheese steaks. Somebody needs to hook me up.)

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Can’t go wrong with Pat’s Cheesesteaks or Geno’s Cheesesteaks ( 9th Street and Passyunk Avenue). They both claim to have the ‘best’. Why not try one from each and see for yourself!!

    June 26, 2015
    • glennw #

      Those are two on the list. Not too touristy? I like your idea of eating two sandwiches to compare! That sounds fair.


      June 26, 2015
      • Andrew Kozlowsky #

        Nah, those are the ONLY ones you should get. They are the original (well, both claim to be the “original”). If you’re looking for a Philly cheesesteak, those are your options.

        June 26, 2015
  2. Lisa #

    Yes. Head to Pat’s or Gino’s for the best, authentic Philly cheesesteaks. For various reasons, we always recommend Pat’s. Enjoy!

    June 26, 2015

Leave a Reply

