Skip to content

We made the show! TAH grant app approved

I’m pretty pumped.

Back in 2003, we applied for and received one of the earliest Teaching American History grants and spent the next three years learning about the Brown v. Board case and its impact on race relations in the United States.

We’ve been trying to get back to the TAH big leagues ever since.

Last Friday, we made the show.

We knew the announcement from the feds was scheduled for early August and I spent much of the afternoon looking online for a news release. And finally there it was. Just us and the Olathe School District, the two lone Kansas projects.

Titled A Century of Progress: Thinking Historically Through the 1800s, we’ll work with forty middle school teachers from central Kansas covering, well . . . the 1800s. The project has some great partners – the National Archives in Kansas City, the Gilder Lehrman Institute, Washburn University, Kansas State and the Kansas Council for History Education.

I am jacked!

Primary sources, great history content, technology integration with iPods and iPads, awesome scholars like Elliot West, great professional conversations. What’s not to like?

We’ve got 14 open spots. Who’s in?

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ann Jones #

    I’m in – let me know where to apply!

    August 10, 2010
  2. You know we’re in! And you won’t have to train us too much in PBL or tech, I don’t think! πŸ˜‰

    August 10, 2010
  3. Congratulations! I hope you share your progress with us here! I’d love to apply in DC, but I think I love my 9th grade World kids too much πŸ™‚

    August 10, 2010
  4. I would LOVE to be in if I could do it from Spokane, WA! Congrats!

    August 11, 2010
    • glennw #

      Would make for a tough commute!

      We’ll eventually be posting most of the teacher-created content, videos of scholar presentations and other project content online. I’ll be sure to post that info here.

      August 11, 2010
  5. msabala #

    Our district applied but must not have made it. I’m in Wichita and would love to get in there. What do I need to do?

    Mike

    August 12, 2010
  6. Jessica #

    WOW that is so cool! I wish you had something like that avaliable for western kansas! It sounds like a great project!

    August 22, 2010

Leave a comment