Skip to content

Civil War lesson plans and teaching resources

It’s that time of year.

For those teaching American History surveys, you’re probably right around Civil War time. And it’s always nice to have a few lessons and resources in your back pocket. So a couple of sites with handy resources:

And don’t forget the 150th anniversary!

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jim Melfi #

    Glenn: The EDSITEment is excellent. Thanks for sharing it. May I add on of my favorite’s, Yale’s David Blight’s 21-part History of the Civil War video from his lecture hall at Yale. I believe if I were teaching the Civil War I’d certainly use Blight’s video. Thanks again, Jim Melfi, Founder, VideoTalks.org.

    March 10, 2011
  2. Glenn – Love your site – and especially getting your tip of the week. I wanted to let your follower’s know that we are getting ready to run our Annual US History Tournament of Champions that runs concurrent with the NCAA tournament. We figure that kids are already into brackets – why not use it to our advantage. To learn more about this free – community activity, visit our website – http://www.myperfed.com/blog/world-history/us-and-world-history-tournament-of-champions-spring-2011/

    March 13, 2011
    • glennw #

      George,

      Sorry for the slow approval of your comment. It ended up in the spam comment section for some reason!

      I really like your history bracket idea – will post it on my Plurk/Twitter feed to try and spread the word a bit.

      Good luck!

      glennw

      March 18, 2011

Leave a comment