Skip to content

Tip of the Week – Creating a blank Facebook template

Update 1/4/2011 – I posted some new Facebook online creation tools and Facebook templates on a recent Tip of the Week. Find it here.

———-

Several months ago, I cranked out a quick post that discussed using a Lincoln Facebook page and Twitter posts to engage kids in historical thinking and conversation.

I really didn’t think that much about it. It seemed to work with the teachers and students I tried it with and so wanted to share the idea with all of you.

Well . . . that particular post is still getting lots of hits and I continue to get emails from teachers asking for blank Facebook pages or blank Facebook templates to use with their kids.

Of course, the best solution would be to actually create a Facebook page for Dwight Eisenhower or Benjamin Banneker or whomever. Then simply edit that page as if you are Ike or Ben.

But Facebook has gotten a bit touchy about that and will probably end up deleting your brand-new fake Ike page. Plus, I don’t know of very many schools that allow Facebook through their internet filters.

The next best thing? Some sort of off-line template.

So . . . today I’ll share a quick overview of what I do to create a blank page and then provide a sample or two.

1. Start by taking a screenshot of a Facebook profile page. If you don’t have a Facebook account, ask one your students to share their profile.

2. Paste the screenshot into some sort of word processing or presentation software. I use Pages on a Mac. But this would work with Powerpoint, MS Word, Keynote . . . just about any software that provides a way to paste in an image (the screenshot) and allows you to insert a text box or shape that can edited.

3. Create text boxes or shapes and place them over the areas of the Facebook screenshot that are specific to your profile. Be sure to leave the headers and titles of those areas visible as much as possible.

This is what the template looks like at this point. I still need to cover my pic and name but you get the idea.

4. Edit each text box or shape so that they have no borders and that the fill color is white.

It should now look something like this:

5. Once everything is covered with white shapes, you can begin to insert photos and boxes with appropriate text. You can do this yourself or you can simply give the kids a paper copy and have them fill in the spaces with pencil. Even better, share the digital template with them. They can then create their own version with pasted images and text boxes using whatever software is available.

If I were a kid, I would prefer to edit the page using digital tools. But that’s just me!

The beginnings of a Dwight D. Eisenhower page:

6. Obviously, you can start with a screenshot of any Facebook page such as the Photos or Info pages.

7. If you do a search on Google, you can find fonts that claim to be the official Facebook font. But I just use Lucinda Grande in my text boxes and it looks pretty good.

If you need a quick template to practice with, you’re welcome to this PDF version.

Have fun!

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

28 Comments Post a comment
  1. Glenn,

    Great idea and tutorial. Although not quite the same as your Facebook template , Read Write Think offers a similar template.
    http://www.freetech4teachers.com/2010/01/read-write-think-profile-publisher.html

    Richard

    February 5, 2010
  2. This is very cool so how is this actually uploaded onto facebook? I am tech-savvy girl and love learning something new!

    February 12, 2010
  3. A #

    How do I take a screen shot?

    April 18, 2010
    • glennw #

      It really depends on what operating system your computer is using. Wikipedia offers perhaps the best overview.

      April 19, 2010
  4. Molly #

    YOU ARE AWESOME!! THanks so much for sharing this!! I really appreciate it, and I am sure MANY others do, too!!

    August 31, 2010
  5. Thanks so much for sharing this! I felt like such a pro when I created my own and I even feel confident that I could teach the kids how to do it themselves! A co teacher and I are using this for a political philosophy project and we are going to have the kids print out their pages and ask them to go around the room and have the other “philosophers” write on their walls or provide status updates based on the information that is shared on the original facebook page. Any other teaching tips on how to expand on this idea would be greatly appreciated.

    October 19, 2010
    • glennw #

      Glad you found a way to use the template! I like the philosopher idea. if you go to:

      Abe Lincoln, Facebook, Twitter and teaching history

      I’ve posted a few other ideas.

      glennw

      October 19, 2010
      • Thanks for the response. I’ll have to let you know how it goes! This is a terrific site. I have forwarded the link to all the members of my department!

        Robin

        October 20, 2010
      • glennw #

        Thanks for spreading the word! Have a great week!

        glennw

        October 20, 2010
  6. hsongfc #

    I really liked the blank Facebook profile template for the main page! I am using it for a history project about a hero of a certain time period. However, the blank facebook template given is only for the ‘wall’ tab. Could you possibly make the exact same blank Facebook template but for the ‘info’ and ‘photo’ tabs? It would help a lot!

    p.s. I tried the screenshot picture for my facebook profile, but the side bars don’t match up, and I want my project to be as realistic looking as possilble. Thanks so much!

    November 18, 2010
    • glennw #

      Thanks for the comment!

      I don’t really understand your P.S. but if you follow the instructions on the post, you should be able to create a pretty realistic project. You may need to do your own screenshot of the main page as well.

      Good luck!

      glennw

      November 18, 2010
  7. Glenn,
    I just came across a presentation on how to support student writing and thought that this blog information was a perfect match. I linked your info here to it – https://docs.google.com/present/edit?id=0AclS3lrlFkCIZGhuMnZjdjVfNDM1aGd4OXI4Z3o&hl=en Thanks for the great idea!
    Nicole

    December 10, 2010
  8. Steve D #

    Thanks so much! I did a project on a delegate of the Constitutional Convection using this template!

    January 9, 2011
    • glennw #

      Glad it came in handy!

      glennw

      January 9, 2011
  9. Syndey Sexton #

    Hey i created the template I am just having posting pictures and comments on the template by the way im using Adobe.

    January 24, 2011
  10. Patrick Bryan #

    Thank you for posting this. First site on my google search and it was exactly what I was looking for. Federalist and Anti-federalist pages.

    March 10, 2011
    • glennw #

      Cool! Glad it was useful!

      glennw

      March 10, 2011
  11. what is the template called???

    February 26, 2013
    • glennw #

      The template is in PDF format and is intended as a way for you to start to see how to create your own. The link to the PDF version is in the last sentence of the poster.

      Good luck!

      glennw

      February 27, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Abe Lincoln, Facebook, Twitter and teaching history « History Tech
  2. Facebooking “Renaissance Men” | Middle Tech
  3. Tip of the Week – Twitter template and Tweet summaries « History Tech
  4. Tip of the Week – My Fake Facebook, Twitter and Text « History Tech
  5. FakeBook – The next step in Facebook templates « History Tech
  6. Week 3: History Tech « Justin Peterson
  7. Tip of the Week - Creating a blank Facebook template | Reading and Writing in primary school | Scoop.it
  8. Film Titles I – Declan Dolan

Leave a comment